PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Malta

Jungle
16-Feb-2015, 12:53
Hello, I am George from Malta (Europe). Totally new here and still to get my LF.... I started in photography some 25 yrs ago, but never had the opportunity to shoot LF. I only know a couple of photographers in malta who have a LF....

I am currently doing a masters in fine arts, and shall be using salt printing and cyanotype processes for my practical side of the thesis.. And it is from here that my interest in Lf came out, and decided to get my self a camera. I am currently seeking info to buy one in fact. I shall be shooting with LF solely for my pleasure, not commercial, for that I stick to my nikon and Olympus...

I am sure, I shall be able to learn a lot form here. Thanks

George

Nathan Potter
16-Feb-2015, 13:57
Hi George, welcome. You caught my attention because I spent a couple of years on Malta (1957, 1958), yes, a long time ago. I was in the US Navy airforce stationed at the British airbase at Halfar. I was shooting 35mm film and some 4X5 using a Navy speed graphic. My favorite entertainment was to ride one of those old island busses from Birzebbugga to Valletta about mid afternoon, then visit a little restaurant on Kingsway and have an egg salad sandwich with a bottle of Lowenbrau in the outdoor cafe. Would take an occasional trip in a Navy P2V to Benghazi, Libya to visit a girlfriend.

Some good historic stuff to photograph on Malta, and beautiful shoreline and cliffs in places.

Here I am on the south coast at the shore near the Wied Gnuber near Halfar.

https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8385/8619825901_be625d4d85_c.jpg (https://www.flickr.com/photos/argiolus/8619825901/)
45M7-57-17[t1 (https://www.flickr.com/photos/argiolus/8619825901/) by hypolimnas (https://www.flickr.com/people/argiolus/), on Flickr

BTW, what village do you reside in?

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

Jungle
16-Feb-2015, 15:36