PDA

View Full Version : Brass Knob on Petzvel / Darlot / etc

StoneNYC
24-Jan-2015, 11:53
I have not in the past really been interested in portrait images, but I've grown to really find them interesting and I was looking to maybe purchase an old portrait lens.

I'm trying to understand the differences, I'm not a lens designer and I don't understand the different lens design explanations like doublet etc., I understand that I can Google the different explanations but I don't understand how they translate into the "look".

I'm also trying to understand what the knob is for, since LF cameras of today have a bellows focussing system, I'm trying to understand if the knob on these old brass lenses are for focussing or something else?

Finally I'm trying to measure the value of a name brand Petzval, Darlot, or Voitlenger (spelling) over the B&L and no-name brass lenses.

I'm looking for something with character, furthermore I don't actually want TOO MUCH swirl, I find it dizzying and distracting, this is relative of course to my personal taste and degree, but I assume to lessen this I would need something that covered say 11x14 for my 8x10 to be more pleasant? Or an 8x10 lens design shot on 4x5? To lessen the swirl and edge changes while still giving an older lens look?

And we can't talk price now but I've been told there are no-name brands for $50 vs the $1,000+ versions? So when does decent lens optics overtake shiny brass on a shelf on the affordable scale?

And also understanding Petzal design vs Darlot, vs rectilinear vs hemispherical vs euryscope vs "portrait lens" vs whatever else there is. And how each differ in look, maybe with comparable examples?

It's a little confusing. I've spent days googling without a serous comparison so it's not like I haven't looked.

Thanks.

Jim C.
24-Jan-2015, 13:06
The knob on brass photographic lenses always seemed redundant to me since as you said, you can focus with the front and rear standards.