PDA

View Full Version : Canson Rag and Platine Photographique

Arthur Nichols
20-Jan-2015, 08:05
Hello All,
I am relatively new to digital printing and am still sorting out my workflow. I have an HPZ3200 and am using Canson Rag and Platine Photographique papers.
Comparing between the two papers I do see that the density and separation in the low tones is much better on the Platine than the Rag. I am using the latest profiles from Canson. I know that this is typical of using matte papers but I was wondering if there were any tricks I could use to improve the low tone separation and DMax in the Rag paper. I would like to be able to make identical prints going back and forth between these two papers. Any input or experience is appreciated.
Thanks
Art

Greg Miller
20-Jan-2015, 10:22
One thing you can do is print a step wedge (see the attachment). You can then look for the darkest lack tones where you can actually differentiate between one black tone and its neighbor (which is the darkest tome where you can hold detail). Note the numeric value of this point (with a matte paper you will likely be somewhere between 10 and 18). You now know the darkest black that your printer can print on that paper and hold shadow detail. Any black values in your image darker than that will all render the same tine and will not have detail.

You can use to when printing. Before you print, create a levels layer and change the output value of the black tone to the numeric value noted above. This will cause a black tone with an RGB value of 0,0,0 in the image to be printed at the value entered (e.g. RGB value of 10,10,10). All tones in the image file brighter than that value will also be increased.

Since the darkest tine in the image will now be printed at the darkest value the printer/paper can render an discrete tone, the print will contain more shadow detail.

Ken Lee
20-Jan-2015, 10:55
I would like to be able to make identical prints going back and forth between these two papers.