PDA

View Full Version : Large Format Beginner

chrism
20-Dec-2014, 07:24
Hello, everyone. I'm Chris and I'm in Nova Scotia. I've been a film photographer for over 40 years, using numerous 35mm SLRs and a pair of Leicas, along with MF in the guise of folders, rangefinders, a TLR, and SLRs. I'm in the strange position of being off work for several months while I undergo chemotherapy for CLL, so I've spent the last three months getting out (I feel generally OK, but have little immunity with low white counts, so I have to keep to myself) and burning up lots of film from my film freezer. Well, sitting around with little to do is a dangerous thing, and I have ended up buying a Crown Graphic with a Linhof 127mm lens and some film holders. I do my own processing and scanning (and I'm lucky enough to have a Flextight X1 so I can do 4x5 negatives some justice with it). When I'm allowed around people again I will probably want to do more portraiture, so I also have a 210mm lens on the way. I look forward to learning as I go along and I hope you'll forgive some basic questions that I ask as I do so!

Chris

John Kasaian
20-Dec-2014, 09:02
Welcome aboard Chris!
What sort of subjects do you shoot in isolation?

chrism
20-Dec-2014, 10:13
Welcome aboard Chris!
What sort of subjects do you shoot in isolation?

The TransCanada Trail borders my property, and it is a trail that goes right across the country from the east coast to the west, and most of it is disused railway line. I have a direct route to Newfoundland if I turn right, or to BC if I go the other way. I can walk along it and meet only one or two people per hour. Close to home most of them want to hug me, which involves some mixed feelings! I have photographed the fall colours and more beaver ponds than I ever imagined could exist so close to home! If MF images are allowed here:

https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7483/15857759218_9e178798fc_c.jpg

https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7493/15566951247_b7a793b2fb_c.jpg