PDA

View Full Version : Adapting Canon EOS and/or Fuji X-T1 to Large Format? Complete n00b asking...

aeiou11235
28-Nov-2014, 08:53
Hello there at the LFP-forums,

This is my first post, so I guess I'll need to write something about my background first (if too much or not interesting then jump down to /////HERE...) : end of the nineties I studied Media Arts with a focus on Analogue Photography and Digital Post-Production (basically I learned how to expose and develop films and how to scan it). I've used analogue photography quite early in the game (around 1998) and kept working with digital cameras ever since. My favorite (analogue) camera-system was the Contax 645, especially for the Zeiss-lenses. The system I'm working with now is Canon 5d MkII and Fuji x-Pro1 and Fuji X-T1. I love the size of the Fuji-system and the quality of the images, especially the colors of the Fuji sensor and the amazing dynamic range. The only downer I have with Fuji and Canon and digital (small format) photography in general is the resolution and the optical qualities of the format. I loved Medium Format for its shallow depth of field and I'm missing it ever since I sold my Contax system (sold it because I could not use it anymore for several years... my clients needed copious amounts of images quick and cheap, the process of developing and scanning film was just too slow and expensive for most (if not all) of my jobs for magazines and commercial clients).