PDA

View Full Version : 8x10 negative from digital file

bill2424
14-Nov-2014, 07:55
I'm trying to find a lab that can make an 8x10 negative from a digital file. I can find a source for 4x5 negatives but not 8x10. I'm assuming that the quality from an 8x10 would be better but I have no experience to back that up when it comes to film recorders. Any advice would be helpful.

Thanks
Bill

Old-N-Feeble
14-Nov-2014, 09:31
Maybe you can stitch four 4x5 negs together... I'd use transparent nylon thread. :D

Vaughn
14-Nov-2014, 10:05
There is a place in Sacramento that does that. I do not have the name...perhaps someone else knows.

Peter Mounier
14-Nov-2014, 10:05
I've used this place for making 4x5 transparencies from digital files, and their service and quality has been great. I see that they make 8x10 negs form digital files too. I recommend them.
https://www.gammatech.com/html/recordingmed.shtml

vinny
14-Nov-2014, 10:52
Search film recording or LVT film output. I dunno if the place in Chicago still does it.

bill2424
14-Nov-2014, 11:16
Thank you I appreciate the help

jp
14-Nov-2014, 11:29
What are you going to use the 8x10 negative for? If it's for archives, the lvt recorder option is solid. If it's for contact prints, an inkjet printed digital negative overhead film will be good. If it's for silver enlargement, you might investigate the silver printing from digital file services.

Drew Wiley
14-Nov-2014, 11:55
8x10 film recorders are uncommon. You might try Jim Browning at Digital Mask or chromiraprints.com.

SergeiR
14-Nov-2014, 13:58
I know person who does platinum printing printing 8x10 negs on his Epson printer (2880 i think)

Tin Can
14-Nov-2014, 15:21
I've used this place for making 4x5 transparencies from digital files, and their service and quality has been great. I see that they make 8x10 negs form digital files too. I recommend them.
https://www.gammatech.com/html/recordingmed.shtml

Gammatech sounds great. Could be used many ways.

Steve Nieslony