PDA

View Full Version : New To LF - using an old Calumet 4x5

Steve8088
5-Nov-2014, 12:23
I am new to LF photography. I am using a Schneider-Kreuznach 75mm lens. I have to use a recessed lens board to focus. This is my problem , the ground glass on this camera is frosted (and lacks composition guides / lines) and the image appears somewhat muted ( I don’t know if this is the right term) . Is it possible to get better image quality by changing to a different glass ? And can anyone suggest where I could obtain a new glass.
Thanks
Steve

BrianShaw
5-Nov-2014, 13:05
Ground glass is supposed to be frosted; otherwise it doesn't wok very well to produce an image that you can focus. The composition lines are a convenience and not required... maybe not even as helpful as onemight think.

Are you sure that the image is really in focus? Describing as "somewhat muted" makes me think maybe not. A different ground glass might make the situation a little brighter but maybe not as much as you expect if your basis of comparison is a SLR.

it is not clear which old Calumet you are using, but for some the recessed lens board is only one thing necessary to focus a short lens. More details (pic) of your gear would help.

djdister
5-Nov-2014, 15:50
If by "muted" you mean it is a bit dark and hard to focus, make sure the aperture (f stop) is at its largest setting, which may be something like f/5.6 or more likely f/8.

Other lenses will offer a faster (wider) maximum aperture, yielding a brighter image to focus on. Also, adding a fresnel lens to your groundglass will help, in addition to using a focusing loupe and dark cloth.

Peter_Jones
5-Nov-2014, 15:59