PDA

View Full Version : The path to success in photography, formal education or not?

Kirk Gittings
19-Oct-2014, 14:11
As a photo teacher, I run into young photographers who really shouldn't pursue a formal education for various reasons. I'm open to all paths. I'm curious to know more detail about your path to being a successful photographer. How did you get into it and then make the leap to making a living at it?

We have a great faculty at the Santa Fe University of Art and Design with very diverse backgrounds: http://santafeuniversity.edu/academi...raphy/faculty/. This is actually my favorite group of colleagues that I have ever had the pleasure of teaching with (with the exception of the same group plus our former chair, Mary Anne Redding who left recently to pursue her real love-curating).

Jac@stafford.net
19-Oct-2014, 14:26
If a person is an autodidact, he had best have a very good and critical instructor.

Kirk Gittings
19-Oct-2014, 14:34
:).....agreed

mdarnton
19-Oct-2014, 14:38
I worked in a photo studio, starting very early, then went to college and got a degree not involving photography, then because a photographer. Subsequently and later, I skipped violin making school, got jobs in a series of shops, and now have my own. I have NEVER felt that the college was a waste of time, however. It always gave me an edge over the competition in so many ways not directly relating to having a resume'; it's about having a certain way of approaching things that's more effective for having the additional education. As one co-worker, long after I'd been to college, so accurately put it: "you college guys always get what you want". The class I'm happiest I had that would be the least obvious, given my path: statistics.

Kirk Gittings
19-Oct-2014, 15:19