PDA

View Full Version : 4X5 Filter Installation/Mounting

AJB
27-Nov-2004, 15:53
To start out with, I am a total newbe to the 4X5 format and as such have a total newbe question. How and where are filters mounted on 4X5 view cameras? I am borrowing a friends Cambo Legend while he is gone for the holidays this weekend and have rented a Powerphase FX scanback to check it out and see how it functions, etc.

Anyway, the Powerphase comes with two color correction filters (AR1 & TG1) which I am assuming are mounted somewhere behind the lens. The problem is, I cannot figure out for the life of me where the filter should be mounted? Do filters require some type of mounting bracket or plate?

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Ralph Barker
27-Nov-2004, 17:19
I'm not familiar with the Powerphase back, but if the filters are square gels, they would mount in front of the lens in a holder. The back probably requires multiple exposures, each through different filters to compile an RGB image. If you don't have a proper filter holder with the camera, you can simply hold the filter in front of the lens.

Ted Harris
28-Nov-2004, 11:47
A quick additional note. There are also systems that are designed for mounting square filters behind the lens. Horseman, for one has such a filter holder/adapter for use with their rail cameras.

Yves Gauvreau
28-Nov-2004, 12:26