PDA

View Full Version : Rodenstock Grandagon-N 90mm 6.8 and Super Speed Graphic?

Omega
7-Aug-2014, 12:19
Well i am new to Large format photography and just ordered my first 4x5 camera, a Super speed Graphic.
I have shot film in the past, usually 35mm and medium format film. I usually shoot landscapes, as well as the occasional macro image (usually with digital)

Well i was wondering if a 90mm F6.8 Grandagon-N would be usable with the Super speed Graphic, when shooting landscapes with medium format i use a Normal Lens (75mm) as that is the only lens my TLR has.

So i was wondering if i could get the wide angle lens to focus.

BradS
7-Aug-2014, 12:37
It will focus but it maybe a pain in the neck to use. I cannot say for sure on the super speed but, on a crown graphic, the 90mm lens usually wants to be located right over the hinge between the bed and the body...which would not be an issue except that one also typically needs to drop the bed so that the focusing rails do not show in the photo....and now we have a pain in the neck situation. I'd very strongly recommend starting out with a lens in the 135mm-210mm range.

Richard Johnson
7-Aug-2014, 18:46
The standard lens for those cameras was 135mm but most 90-210 lenses will work (although no macros with the 210!)

If you like the normal 75-80 on medium format then the 135 will feel slightly wider. The change of proportions and sheer size makes translating focal lengths between formats only a rough guesstimate, never an exact science.

A 135 or 150 is really the best bet because most of them will fold into the camera (all but the smallest 90 Angulon will not) and the 135-150 normal lenses are going to be brighter on the ground glass and easier to focus (and generally figure out what's going on).

The 90 makes a great second lens once you get the hang of it!

Michael Clark
7-Aug-2014, 22:19
The Ektar 127mm 4.7 works very good on the Speed and Crown and can be folded into the camera.

Omega
8-Aug-2014, 09:19