PDA

View Full Version : Ink for Carbon Transfer

brucep
5-Aug-2014, 00:17
I'm just getting all the bits together and hope to be pouring my first carbon tissues later this week when the ink arrives. I've ordered a bottle of Pebeo graphic india ink, but I've found only one reference to it in glop which says it doesn't work.

Is some India ink different from others, meaning some work and some dont? and if it doesn't work, what happens?

Is tattoo parlour ink a good option?

Regards
Bruce

UlbabraB
5-Aug-2014, 02:14
I'm a newbie too in this process and in my tests I tried Sennelier Ink and Winsor & Newton Ink (both readily available in Europe) and I had good results only with the latter.

With Sennelier ink I got streaks in the tissue, confirmed later by another carbon printer in Italy. They might be caused by the shellac contained in the ink. Sennelier ink also required a lot more of mixing and filtering due to the particles dispersed in the ink.

W&N went straight without particular issues.

evan clarke
5-Aug-2014, 03:16
Try Black Cat from Blick..Purest black ink around. A friend who is a prolific carbon printer uses it and I use it on pool cues to make them jet, piano black..

Jim Fitzgerald
5-Aug-2014, 06:26
I use the Black Cat as well. It is my main ink. Filtering any ink is a good habit to get into. Start with this ink and get to know carbon printing and then look for other inks to adjust your special tone. Good luck and have fun!

brucep
5-Aug-2014, 09:41
What are you using to filter the ink? Coffee filter, lab filter paper or milipore filter, or something completely different?

Does anyone know if Blick will ship to the UK, or any supplier of black cat ink in Europe

Thanks
Bruce

Jim Fitzgerald
5-Aug-2014, 10:23
Bruce, I use some old cheesecloth to filter. As far as where to get the ink in Europe I don't know.

Andrew O'Neill
5-Aug-2014, 16:06