PDA

View Full Version : printing from transparencies

el pescador
2-Aug-2014, 02:18
Hope you can give me some advice/bring me up to speed on hardware/methods of printing from transparencies. For the last few years I,ve been concentrating on MF/LF black and white photography in my own wet darkroom. Years back I used to do stock photography and everything was on velvia, which I loved. I,m wondering what would be involved in setting up for printing from velvia transparencies. I probably wouldn,t want to print much larger than 20x16. Is it possible to scan transparencies satisfactorally with a flat bed scanner (Epson v700?) And which printer? Epson seem to get good reviews. Is this even a good idea or should I be looking at different film/methods to produce good colour prints? Thanks inadvance

Jim Jones
2-Aug-2014, 04:46
I've been using an Epson V700 scanner and 3800 printer for five or six years now, and am completely satisfied. The printer has produced maybe 6000 B&W and color prints with no significant problems. Others with very high expectations may demand even higher performance, but most should be satisfied with the Epson setup.

Lenny Eiger
2-Aug-2014, 09:31
There have been threads recently about the best rental darkrooms in different cities where one can rent scanner time, etc. I wouldn't scan a 35mm slide on a 750 and expect it to print at 16x20 (or 20x16). You have to make a judgment about the level of print quality you want. I think the Epson printer is the right way to go. However, for myself, I would go a level or two up on the scanner.

Jim is satisfied, however, and he's older than me... ;-) You are going to have to make up your own mind. Best is to test it. If you are somewhere remote, then hire someone to do a consumer flatbed scan and someone else to do a better scan, and see what they are like. The Epson flatbed scanner is not cheap....

Lenny

el pescador
2-Aug-2014, 12:24