PDA

View Full Version : Another Civil War Reenactor Try

Brassai
9-Jul-2014, 21:45
Shot taken using Chamonix 045n, Efke 25. Lens was 6 inch Ross Petzval c.1845. I like the out of focus swirl and corner vignette, but the DoF is not good here. Lens is f2.8. Would some lens swing have helped here, or should I just shoot from an angle that gets everyone on one plane? I'm still learning this lens.

Kirk Gittings
9-Jul-2014, 21:54
Your subjects need to go out and do a few forced marches through the mud and heat with maybe 2 hours sleep in their dirty uniforms eating poor rations and drinking filthy water. :)

John Olsen
10-Jul-2014, 18:12
Your subjects need to go out and do a few forced marches through the mud and heat with maybe 2 hours sleep in their dirty uniforms eating poor rations and drinking filthy water. :)
Yes, way too clean and a little chubby too. We need an "Andersonville" re-enactment maybe. I've never figured out the lure of Civil War re-enactments.

goamules
10-Jul-2014, 18:44
Ha! I like your shot, you did a good job. Keep having fun with those old Ross's.

Heroique
10-Jul-2014, 18:50
A fun shot, but they look like soldiers under McClellan, certainly not Grant!

To liven things up, we need more reenactments of ambushes by Forrest.

Or raids by Mosby. ;^)

Bill_1856
10-Jul-2014, 19:34
Have you ever tried a Rapid Rectilinear?

Brassai
11-Jul-2014, 05:46
I do have a RR lens, but it's from the 1890s with wheel stop. I don't think RR lens was really available until nearly the end of the war, and that might have been mostly in Europe. I have been looking for something like a 6 in. RR lens from the 1860/1870s but am in no hurry. I mostly like pre-Civil War lenses or those from 1900 to 1925. My last lens purchase was an 8 in. Dagor in Compound, serial dates 1910.

Jmarmck
11-Jul-2014, 06:08
Uniforms are the wrong color....err.............tone! :p

Nice shot.

alanbutler57
11-Jul-2014, 06:14