PDA

View Full Version : Focus problem with speed graphic

luisefigenio
20-Jun-2014, 14:35
Hi, I did bought an used Speed Graphic. I do have shoot with nikkor150mm , and I'm struggling with the focus. I do focus in ground glass, my target seams perfect in focus, but in negative it is always focus behind the target. In exemple, I did focus on caravan, and in the boy with the gun? What is wrong? could it be problem in ground glass? any help?

brucetaylor
20-Jun-2014, 14:46
I suspect the groundglass is not on the same plane as the film holder. I am not an expert, but there were different Graflex groundglass holders, one set up for a fresnel lens before the focussing surface of the glass, and one not. If a plain gg is in place of the fresnel/gg combination the plane of focus will be off. I have also seen gg installed backwards. You may be able to adjust this yourself with care. I'm sure there are some Speed Graphic experts that will comment, or go over to www.graflex.org and you should be able to find answers there.

Jim C.
20-Jun-2014, 15:21
I've received cameras that have the gg reversed for whatever reasons the previous owners thought was a good idea.
I'd check the ground glass, the matte side should be facing inside the camera.

Tracy Storer
20-Jun-2014, 15:25
Jim C. has already posted what would have been my first suggestion. Make sure the ground glass is installed properly, frosted side towards the inside of the camera (and lens) and the plain, glossy side facing out towards you.

Chauncey Walden
20-Jun-2014, 15:32
Do you use a loupe?

jbenedict
20-Jun-2014, 18:21
Do what is suggested above. Take the lens and board off and look to see if the ground glass is frosted on the inside and the part that you look at through the focus hood is shiny.

If that checks out, make a test: