PDA

View Full Version : Watermarks

Jmarmck
7-Apr-2014, 09:16
How do you feel about watermarks?
I can see the necessity of them but dislike the presents, particularly when they are somewhere in the middle of the image.
Would you view the watermark as a signature or is it strictly a legal measure?

ROL
7-Apr-2014, 09:20
It's a symptom of the ignorant and insecure. See also Netproofing (http://www.rangeoflightphotography.com/pages/webmarketing#netproofing).

Jmarmck
7-Apr-2014, 10:47
It's a symptom of the ignorant and insecure. See also Netproofing (http://www.rangeoflightphotography.com/pages/webmarketing#netproofing).
There is some very good information on your site.
I have been questioning how do deal with this end of photography without any real decisions.
Yes, I am a hobbyist. But I still would like to have my works viewed.

Thanks for the information. :cool:

Greg Miller
7-Apr-2014, 10:59
Register your copyright (its cheap and easy) and forget about it. Place your contact info and Copyright statement in the meta data. If someone removes that data, it is evidence that they willfully violated copyright.

alavergh
7-Apr-2014, 22:58
I know people that put watermarks on social networking sites but I think it's largely to aid in their publicity and giving them credit when somebody shares something. If I'm going to put something on Facebook where it can be "shared" I want a small mark of credit on it. If it's on my own website, nah. People really are paranoid.

Darin Boville
7-Apr-2014, 23:04
I hate the idea of putting *anything* in the image area that is not part of the image. Why degrade your work for every web viewer just to prevent the tiny threat of unauthorized use?

--Darin

Iluvmyviewcam
8-Apr-2014, 03:40