PDA

View Full Version : Photographing interiors with Nikkor 90mm SW on 5x7...advice

Larry Kellogg
1-Apr-2014, 19:13
Hello,
It looks like I will get the chance to photograph some interiors on an upcoming trip. I'm bringing along a 5x7 camera. Should I try to make use of a Nikkor 90mm SW f/8, or stick to a 180mm Fujinon.

Larry

Leszek Vogt
2-Apr-2014, 01:24
Larry, I thought 120mm was wide enough (24mm @35mm equiv)...though I'm new to 5x7. If the lens covers the 5x7 with some movements....then it would be worth trying IMO.

Les

hoffner
2-Apr-2014, 01:35
Try using a viewing frame "in some interiors" to see for yourself.

Francisco J. Fernández
2-Apr-2014, 02:01
I guess that question will depend on which lens you have and also the proportions of those spaces and interiors. The dimensions and depth influence the way you see your image.
I think the idea of a 120 mm is a great idea. 90 mm ​​to 13x18 cm, equivalent to 18 mm in 35 mm format (perhaps be excessive).

The decision must be taken thinking that you have available lenses and few of them are willing to walk.

Will my choice? 120mm, 150 mm, and 210 mm (the three together in my bag)

rfesk
2-Apr-2014, 03:59
It is worth trying for some situations. And maybe a necessity in others. A 120 would be more versatile. I suggest you do a set up inside a building and see for yourself (using the ground glass) what you will run into.

Larry Kellogg
2-Apr-2014, 04:41
Thanks for all the responses. My 125mm lens is a Fujinon W that barely covers 5x7. The Nikkor 90mm SW f/8 has a lot of coverage for 5x7 with its 235mm image circle. I really don't know the dimensions of the rooms I'll be trying to photograph, so it's a little hard to know which lenses to bring. I'm trying to avoid bringing every lens I own. ;-) I was going to go with 180, 240, 300, and 450, but now it seems like I need something towards the wider side.

Larry

Carl J
2-Apr-2014, 10:22
Francesco, just curious, what 150mm are you using for 5x7? Thanks.