PDA

View Full Version : Sinar C in the field?

Greg Meier
29-Sep-2004, 14:52
Hello everyone-

I am relatively new to the LF world, and have been using a light 4x5 monorail for about 6 months (toho). All of my work is in the street in Sao Paulo, Brazil. I bought the Toho after reading many posts in this forum. While I like it's weight and small size, I find myself wanting something much more rigid and exact, with at least some geared movements. As I do not hike in the mountains or walk for much more than a couple of miles, I could manage something a quite a bit heavier. It would have to be easy to set up and take down. I also want to stay with a monorail as I like having full movements on the rear standard.

I am looking for something from a major brand that has a modular system with lots of readily available used accessories.

I have read all the positive comments on the AS F line, but am concerned with the cost and availability of basic accessories. Sinar, in comparision, always has pages and pages of stuff avail on ebay and even in used stores in Brazil

So the other two options I am looking at, but do not know if they are realistic or practical would be a Sinar C or Norma. Does anyone have experience carrying around a Sinar C? Is it just too cumbersome?

What about the Norma? I have never used one, but it seems to have almost a cult following. My concern with the Norma would be with its age. Are they durable through the decades?

Both of these models receive lots of praise and are not so expensive as A-S and Linhof options.

Am I missing some other obvious choices?

Thanks so much for your comments and advice.

Greg

steve simmons
29-Sep-2004, 15:26
I used a C for many years as an architectural photographer and oved it I am not sure I would have made the same choice for street photography.

You miht think about a folding camera type unless you need the extra movements of a monorail camera.

steve simmons

Richard Wasserman
29-Sep-2004, 18:42