PDA

View Full Version : On craft and life.

Kirk Gittings
28-Dec-2013, 11:38
The most inspirational film on photography I have seen in some time:

http://video.pbs.org/video/2365134660/

IanG
28-Dec-2013, 11:53
The video is unavailable outside the US unfortunately.

Ian

Steve Goldstein
28-Dec-2013, 12:14
I agree with Kirk, this is a really amazing and motivating film.

It's available on DVD from Amazon for around US$10.

Erik Larsen
28-Dec-2013, 12:26
Just for clarification, is it the video about the sushi guys or another video?

Kirk Gittings
28-Dec-2013, 12:32
Watch it and I think you will get it. I've been a full time photographer since 1978 and this taught me more about my craft than most great photo books have about photography.

Jim collum
28-Dec-2013, 12:41
Just for clarification, is it the video about the sushi guys or another video?

Yea.. Jiro Ono

One of the finest craftsman of *any* craft I've witnessed.

Erik Larsen
28-Dec-2013, 12:41
Watch it and I think you will get it. I've been a full time photographer since 1978 and this taught me more about my craft than most great photo books have about photography.

Will do, just wanted to make sure the video was the correct one. Thanks

speedfreak
28-Dec-2013, 12:43
My browser brings up Jiro Dreams of Sushi. If this is the film you're referring to, then I whole heartily agree.
There is a lot to be said for the art in taking a craft to its highest level. Even the simplest of tasks or subject can be coaxed into giving up its incredible beauty if treated with enough reverence.
Craft is so often overlooked today, especially in the western culture of cheap approximations, that when someone or something is found to be possessing such careful consideration it serves as inspiration for those that truly appreciate what it stands for; beauty in a raw form. A shining light that can serve as inspiration for ones own craft.

Kirk Gittings
28-Dec-2013, 12:55