PDA

View Full Version : Mixing Selenimum Toner

ShannonG
6-Dec-2013, 13:35
So im using the Illford Selenium toner 1 L bottle. Mixing 1-3.This makes 4 L.(says the directions on the bottle).. So I wanted to use 1/2 of the bottle so i measured out a 1/2 L from the bottle then added 1 and 1/2 L of water. Is this ok or should i mix the whole bottle. (not sure how fast i am going to use it up,or how long the solution stays good,that's why i mixed just 1/2 bottle)
I attempted to tone Kentmere Fiber Base,It toned a little making the blacks blacker but don't see the classic Selenium tone,(the whites didn't change much) I left the print in for 1 hour. Does Selenium take a long time?,or should i mix the whole bottle? What am i doing wrong? BTW its my first time with this toner,Thanks for any help.
Shannon

AJ Edmondson
6-Dec-2013, 14:21
You should be fine with the dilution. You won't see any change in the whites and, after an hour you aren't going to see any further change, also, selenium usually tones better at about 75 degrees F. Not all papers respond equally to selenium and I haven't seen many VC papers which performed great with SE (though that is a matter of individual taste). I always had good results with Ilford Galerie and Oriental Seagull but I usually don't tone for a strong color cast. As a rule the major effect (other than longevity) is an increase in the densities of darker values.
Joel

vinny
6-Dec-2013, 14:24
I tone my kentmere finegrain (kodak selenium) for 3 minutes at 1:19. you won't see much change with this paper.
selenium lasts a long long time. do a search on it.

Jan Pedersen
6-Dec-2013, 15:13
1:3 is a very strong solution and almost at the strength you want to use to increase contrast in negatives.
Some papers don't tone very well, the now long gone Kentmere Kentona was an exception. Ilfords papers don't tone well either but the newly announced paper should tone better.