PDA

View Full Version : Quad Tone RIP setup question

Jim Andrada
31-Jul-2013, 21:48
I just installed QTR but the "manual" PDF file is obviously out of date compared to the software - maybe about 8 years out of date.

Is there a more recent document that describes how to set it up/build a curve for a given paper etc?

I'm using an Epson 4880 with the normal ink set. Windows 7. Would like to set it up for Museo Silver Rag

Tin Can
31-Jul-2013, 21:55
Strange i was just reading this. I am no expert and learning slowly, but at least it made sense. The link was still loaded!

http://www.jnevins.com/tutorials.htm

I just installed QTR but the "manual" PDF file is obviously out of date compared to the software - maybe about 8 years out of date.

Is there a more recent document that describes how to set it up/build a curve for a given paper etc?

I'm using an Epson 4880 with the normal ink set. Windows 7

Ken Lee
1-Aug-2013, 03:13
Try http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/QuadtoneRIP

Peter Langham
1-Aug-2013, 09:08
For Windows, read Tom Moore's tutorial first. Then look at some of the more Mac centric ones like Lou Dina's and Amadu Diallo's. None are new, but they will all get you going. I don't think much has changed. You should be able to find all of them in the files section of the yahoo group mentioned above.

Peter De Smidt
1-Aug-2013, 09:35
Also check out:
http://www.paulroark.com/BW-Info/QTR-Flatbed.pdf
Paul uses a scanner to find the densities, but you can use a spectro, which is a better way to do it.

1) Open QTR.
2) Click on Tools > Options > Calibration mode.
3) Choose your printer.
4) The ink calibration chart should be loaded. Under Placement choose “centered”, and under Scale choose “To Fit”.
4.5) Choose "2880 dpi" in the Resolution menu and "Uni-directional" in the Speed menu.
5) Make sure that the paper size is correct, and the ink calibration should be 100.
6) Load your paper and click “print”
7) Use a hair dryer to dry the print for about 5 minutes.