PDA

View Full Version : How do you juggle all the accessories while shooting LF?

jackbaty
28-Jul-2013, 04:59
I'm new to large format (4x5). I recently purchased a nice old Crown Graphic and have exposed maybe 25 negatives so far, mostly environmental portraits. Of all the things I'm finding challenging (and there are many!) the one I'm struggling with most is also one that seems the most silly; how to manage all the "stuff" involved. I've got a bag that fits the folded camera, 4 film holders, etc, but once I start shooting I seem to need everything at once.

I'm wrestling with an old shirt in the wind as a focusing cloth while using the loupe to view the ground glass and trying not to drop the loupe when I discover I left the film holders in the bag so I stuff the loupe uncomfortably into my pocket, wipe the sweat from my eye and almost choke myself when the strap from my meter catches the tripod as I reach for the holders and now the t-shirt has blown away and so on.

I should probably just slow down and perhaps I'll develop a better system. Maybe I'm just hoping to hear that it's not just me. Anyway, I'd love to hear how others manage things.

David A. Goldfarb
28-Jul-2013, 05:33
I usually use a traditional darkcloth and keep it folded approximately in half over my shoulders, so I can just flip it over my head when I need to look at the groundglass.

Lightmeter goes in a pocket or on a lanyard around my neck, depending on which meter I'm using.

Loupe usually on a lanyard as well.

Filmholders are in the case to avoid light leaks until they are needed. Filters are also in the case usually.

I usually have a spirit level and cable release in a very accessible pocket at the front of my bag.

Pocket size notebook and pen usually go in a shirt or jacket pocket when I'm shooting actively, or in the bag when I don't have so many notes to make.

TXFZ1
28-Jul-2013, 05:48