PDA

View Full Version : Help with a Mac Pro

Bill, 70's military B&W
11-May-2013, 07:07
Just setting up an office, LFPF has helped me choose 2 NEC monitors NEC PA241W with SpectraviewII kit.
After a few false starts with purchases on ebay, I finally ended up ordering a 12 core Mac Pro, 32 GB RAM, it has 2 video cards:
nvidia-quadro-4000-for-mac and the standard 5770. My main use will be for photography and personal use.

I have no experience with Mac Pro's, so I have been reading and I have a couple of questions.
The Nvidia 4000 has 2 outputs, one Display Port and one DVI Port. The 5770 has 2 of each.
From from what I am reading the NEC monitors do best when connected via Display Ports.

What I am unsure of is how to connect the monitors.

Do the 2 cards act together or separately? Some have written that the 2 cards interact nicely in Windows (Bootcamp) but not when in MAC mode. What can I expect?

What is best,
1. connection monitors using both 5770 Display Ports
2. connect one to Nvidia and one to 5770 using Display Ports
3. use Nvidia only, one Display Port and one DVI
4. Sell both cards and get a 5870

Another topic, I am putting in a Samsung SSHD and I will need to purchase 3 HD's, any suggestions? Should I set up a RAID? IF so then which one?

Any suggestions would really be appreciated.
Thanks, Bill

Bob Salomon
11-May-2013, 08:04
I have found the Genius Bar at the Apple stores very helpful with questions like this and it is free. You just call and make an appointment at your nearest Apple Store or make an appointment on line or at the store.

Henry Ambrose
11-May-2013, 08:44
I'm not completely clear on your questions, but I'll have a go at it.