PDA

View Full Version : Effects of developer dilutions

ryanmills
5-Mar-2013, 23:37
I'm rather new to developing film but i'm starting to tinker. I'm curious what the effects are if I start changing the dilutions. Right now im working with HC110 and Tri-X 320. I have been using the normal 1:31 dilution @ 5:30. I found i was a bit under exposed and pushed to 6:15 and im getting usable results. I was reading about some different timing and dilutions but im not clear on what they will effect.

For example, if I change the dilution to 1:15 and keep the same time will get the same result as developing for double the time at 1:15 or would i just see an increase in contrast.

StoneNYC
5-Mar-2013, 23:52
First you must recognize that that Pushing doesn't correct exposure it pushed the highlights up, if you want to fix exposure, try shooting at EI 250.

I know many Tri-X users who shoot 400 speed Tri-X at 320 so try shooting 250.

As for dilutions, there are many options.

Experiment :) go crazy! Haha

Paul Hoyt
6-Mar-2013, 00:35
HC-110 is a great developer. If you make your solution twice as dilute [1+31 to 1+63], just double your time. If you use an intermediate dilution, you can calculate your development time from your initial dilution/development time. In you question about how long to develop at 1+15, you would cut your time in half since the developer is twice as strong; 3 min 7 seconds.

ryanmills
6-Mar-2013, 00:44
So dev at 1:31 for 6 mins would be the same as as 1:63 for 12 mins?

I have not been able to wrap my head around EI vs ISO vs ASA and what bloody times to develop at. I did a test shoot at ISO 250 and extending my dev time but it left a rather flat image. That's why I wondered about mixing HC110 strong first off to shorten the time and wondered if I would increase contrast. I have not seen much change speeding up my agitation.

Dennis
6-Mar-2013, 09:33