PDA

View Full Version : new LF user in fairbanks alaska checking in

robert liebermann
1-Mar-2013, 15:47
Hello. I've been doing a little looking/reading on 4x5s, and since I've seen a few things on the threads here thought I ought to sign up.

I've been doing photography for 30+ years, but nothing bigger than 6x7 (I just got a 'new' Olympus Pen-FT half frame too - I like them all!)

Have been thinking about getting into 4x5 for a few years, but maybe I ought to do it soon while there's still some film left. I especially look forward to having control of the focal plane! Also the deliberative process of camera setup which, I hope, will slow and improve my photography to the same degree that the RB-67 did compared to 35mm.

I'm taking a photo class at the university here (mainly for darkroom access as I have much E6 to process! but everything else is fun too and always good to learn more). The next assignment is LF - so this will be my my first try of 4x5, and looking forward to it. I've borrowed a Linhof Color from the department and /really/ like its build; I'm taking it out this weekend on the snowshoes for a little shooting.

Now I need to think about used a camera to buy... Advice or ideas solicited. I know other formats pretty well, have an idea what I want to do, but need to know more about the technics and so forth of 4x5 cameras et al. I see there's a for sale part on this website, but I can't get it for-I think-a month as a new user, but have been looking elsewhere to see what's available.

I like landscape photography and would shoot 4x5 in B/W and, later, color (while I still can!). I'm a fan of Eliot Porter, Ansel Adams, George Tice, Nadine (also Les and Craig) Blacklock, among LF landscape photographers.

This will probably be rejected by the forum software, but here's a link to some of my photography/ideas, 'greatly enhanced by imperfection': http://rjl.us/photo/

I look forward to learning more about LF photography!

Winger
1-Mar-2013, 17:40