PDA

View Full Version : Right to photograph buildings

nimo956
17-Feb-2013, 13:50
I'm new to LF and have just gotten all of my gear together. Now, I want to practice. Being in Boston, I was thinking of going to the Harvard campus to take some photos. Are there any legal complications in doing this? Could someone ask me to leave? During the day, anyone can just walk onto the Harvard campus. These photos would be for my own personal use and not for sale.

Heroique
17-Feb-2013, 14:00
When you contacted Harvard, what did they say? ;^)

nimo956
17-Feb-2013, 14:13
Do I really need to contact someone? It just seems funny to me since thousands of people take tours of the campus every day and take pictures with their cameras. I guess LF cameras just look too serious. Who would I need to contact?

Heroique
17-Feb-2013, 14:41
I’d start w/ the school’s public relations office, who can either share formal “guidelines,” if there are any, or direct you to the best school-based source for more information. You might also glance at the school’s web site for clear information.

I’m not familiar with Harvard, but generally, go ahead and expect a security person to approach you, whether you’ve contacted the institution beforehand or not. After all, LF gear does seem to arouse security people to action. Even in public through-ways.

In my experience, sharing any efforts you’ve made beforehand seems to go a long way w/ security staff. For example, even if you simply say you’ve contacted the PR or security office, or better, can share an official’s name and contact information, that often proves very settling to security guards – and they tend to leave me alone. (If you lecture them about your “rights,” you might as well start packing up right then and there, whether you have rights or not.)

Jac@stafford.net
17-Feb-2013, 15:03
Harvard has strident rules limiting and even cases of prohibiting photography on campus.

You MUST get permission first.

Call or visit their Press Office.